Join | Forgot your password?
Tattersalls Top RightTattersalls Chelt Main Banner

Latest News



Mustang Prince took the opening race of the 1971 season for T Harty under Connie Vaughan and went on to remain unbeaten from three runs. The final race on the card went to Rockaway Rose for P Mangan ridden by I Williams. This mare went on to win all of her three outings during the season also.

At the Ormond point-to-point, the opening race went to Star News under Helen Bryce-Smyth who won all of his five races making him the leading pointer of the season.

At Punchestown the opening race was won by Joseph McGraths Garravogue ridden by Dermot Weld enjoying his first success in point-to-points.

Leo Hayes enjoyed a double at Kilmallock on Mrs G Hogans Trim and Dr T Quanes Tullyleake.
John Rothwells hat trick scorer The Leap, won at Lingstown by two lengths from Solo Prince under Dermot Weld. Another hat trick scorer Speedville, won on the same card under Willie Brown.

At Kilkenny, 29 runners were declared for the Open maiden race. The Stewards considered it dangerous for so many runners to take part so an impartial draw – 15 runners in Div 1 and 14 runners in Div 2 was made, the latter to be run after the last race.
Under 13st 7lbs Andrew McNamara steered Ballyknock VI to success in the McDonagh Memorial Cup at the Limerick Harriers Fixture at Fedamore.

At Kildorrery, Connie Vaugh won aboard Ruakura who won three of his seven starts that season.
Bright Trick and Mount Kearny who won seven races between them that season was the feature winners at Taylorstown and both were owner ridden by well-known Turf Club official Frankie Fitzsimmons and leading point-to-point rider Ann Ferris.

Ballymahon-based Eamonn Finn who is still training winners alongside his brother Jack, saddled Top Scot under John Cash at The Pigeons while George Chaffney took the final contest on Thunderbolt VI.

At Nenagh Ted Walsh steered Solo Prince to success in the maiden for E Mahon, Tully Leake who won four of his five starts that season took the heavyweight race under 13st and the hat trick scorer Shakey Times initiated a double for the Kennys completed by Fairy Mountain VI in the last.

At Sligo Helen Bryce Smyth won on Kilspindie who scored on three occasions in 1971 while Declan Gilroy took the final race on Larry V.

The Scarteen (Black And Tans) meeting at Knocklong saw P P Hogan ride his final winner aboard Rocky VI Lightweight Confined by a length but he had to survive an objection. The Scarteen Hunt Cup Heavyweight Confined went to Aidan O’Connell aboard Sir B Warrens Friday VI.

At the Tipperary fixture held at Cashel, John Rothwell scored twice with The Leap and South Side who won five races between them that season.

One of the better mares of the season Ribbon Perfume won at Craigantlet at the North Down fixture and won three of her four starts that season.

The Hunt race at Armagh went to Dr J F Gillespies Duplate with the owner steering this winner to victory by a distance. Dr J F Gillespies latter married Lady Jane Alexander, where the pair enjoyed success with Dasheen, Coney Choice and Keephimbachwilliam to name just a few.

 The final race went to Dessie Osborne aboard Shining Stone who remained unbeaten from only two starts this term.

Another winner of his only two starts was the Conheadys five-year-old Mid Clare who won at the Dromoland fixture on Monday April 12th.

At Rossahilly in Enniskillen Richard Filgate won the Nominated Hunter race on Blackout VI by a distance.
At Athenry Willie Leahy took the Members, Subscribers and Farmers race by ten lengths on Benhigh VI from Mr De La Poer Trench in second aboard Mini Bus VI. The Loughrea fixture at Dartfield is owned by Willie Leahy who also runs a trekking business from the Galway farm.

Dead Cert completed his hat trick for owner R Power who was aboard for this success at Kanturk.
Owenacurra had a busy season with ten starts but he notched up his third success at Carrigtwohill on May 5th. Ger Mulcachy took the final race on Kathleen VI. 
The riders table below is not complete. The winner and runner up are correct and it contains a selection of people who rode winners during the year.


17    C.Vaughan
13    I.Williams
12    W.E.Rooney
9    L.Hayes,
8    Helen Bryce-Smyth, J.Kenny,
7    M.Morris, J.O’Keeffe,
6    W.P.Browne, R.Martin, J.L.Rothwell,
5    F.Fitzimons, W.A.McLernon, R.Nicholson, T.O’Callaghan, Rosemary Stewart, 
4    Mrs H Ferris, D.K.Weld,
3    J.Cash,W.Cash, M.Hickey, T.A.Jones, 
2    M.Berry, M.Lowry, B.Murphy,
1    B.D.Byrne, T.Byrne, P.J.Casserly, I.Ferguson, J.Fowler, Dr J F Gillespie, P.P.Hogan, I.J.Keeling, J.Mernagh, A.J.McNamara, E.O’Grady, R.Steele, T.M.Walsh, V.Wilson,

To have a look back through some previous years click on the link below.

Search the Archives

recent news story
The 1995 season saw Tony Martin claim his first riders title with 40 winners while also winning the Eastern award the same season.
recent news story
Tickets are now on sale for the 39th Annual Irish Field Point-to-Point Awards.
recent news story
Barry O'Neill joined a select group of riders by winning back-to-back Eastern titles at Oldcastle on Sunday.
recent news story
The profilic Arctic Times is in the spotlight for our new series on leading pointers, past and present.
recent news story
The Gerry Kelleher-trained 10-year-old followed-up his Tramore win with success at Downpatrick on Friday night.
recent news story
Online entry for Portrush & Tralee is now open.
recent news story
Former Irish point-to-point graduates Harden and Truckers Glory were both on the score board at Stromsholm in Sweden last weekend.
recent news story
Tattersalls Ireland Cheltenham May Sale takes place on Thursday 31 May and has attracted a high class initial entry of 36 horses.
recent news story
Burn Baby Byrne, who was demoted at Durrow in March, gained compensation on her UK debut for Evan Williams.
recent news story
The track at Portrush is reported to be in good condition ahead of the point to point fixture on Saturday 26th May.
recent news story
Impressive ten-length debut P2P winner Ask For Glory headlines Spring Sale additions.
recent news story
The former champion novice point-to-point rider has called time on a career which saw Grand National success.
recent news story
Following a first double of his career, Shane Baragry is the latest young rider to feature in our NextGen section.
recent news story
The first batch ofsupplementary P2P and form horse entries have been accepted for the Goffs UK Spring HIT/P2P Sale
recent news story
A quality line-up of 398 Horses-in-Training & Point-to-Pointers have been catalogued for the two-day Goffs UK Spring HIT/P2P Sale
recent news story
Derek O'Connor won his tenth consecutive Western title which is the Galway natives 37th point-to-point award to have won.
recent news story
Sydney Paget is in the spotlight for our new series on leading pointers, past and present.
recent news story
There will be schooling bumpers available on the first Tuesday of every month.
recent news story
The latest addition to is now available, which will allow supporters to follow the declarations each weekend.
recent news story
Our latest initiative to promote attendances at point-to-points is now live.
recent news story
Click here to view the 2018 Spring Point to Point fixture list which has just been released.
P2P Clothing
EU SIFPOfig Fiontair AitiuilEuropean UnionITM
© Irish Point to Point Services Ltd, 2014. All rights reserved. Grangeclare West, Kilmeague, Naas, Co Kildare
Cookie Policy | Privacy Policy
Hosting and Development by HostIreland