Join | Forgot your password?
DBS Top RightTattersalls Chelt Main Banner

Latest News

CHELTENHAM 2018: St. James Palace Foxhunter Facts

CHELTENHAM 2018: St. James Palace Foxhunter Facts

With less than a week to go until this year’s Cheltenham Foxhunters, we take a look back at some interesting facts about the historic race.

Established in 1904, Palmy Boy won the inaugural running of the 3m2f race which is commonly referred to as the "amateur Gold Cup". 

Since 1990 there has been nine Irish-trained winners and following today’s six-day declaration stage seven of the 28 left in the race are Irish contenders which includes the current favourite Burning Ambition as well as Foxrock ,Balnaslow, On The Fringe, Minella For Value ,Quiet Account and Eddies Miracle.
Below is a table of the Irish-trained winners since 1990.
 1991  Lovely Citizen  8   Willie O'Sullvan  Eugene O'Sullivan
 1996  Elegant Lord  8  Enda Bolger  Enda Bolger
 2006  Whyso Mayo  9  Damien Murphy  Raymond Hurley
 2011  Zemsky  8  Derek O'Connor  Ian Ferguson
 2012  Salsify  Colman Sweeney  Roger Sweeney
 2013  Salsify  8  Colman Sweeney   Roger Sweeney
 2014  Tammys Hill  9  James Smyth  Liam Lennon
 2015  On The Fringe  10  Nina Carberry  Enda Bolger
2016 On The Fringe 11 Nina Carberry Enda Bolger
Most successful horses:
Since 1946 no horse has won the race more than twice with 2012 and 2013 winner Salsify (pictured) and 2015 and 2016 winner On The Fringe the most recent dual winners of the race. 
Leading rider since 1946:
Colman Sweeney holds the title of the leading rider in the race having been successful in the 2005 renewal aboard the Paul Nicholls-trained Sleeping Night as well as in 2012 and 2013 when he steered his family-owned Salsify to success. 
Having beaten Chapoturgeon by a length in 2012, the son of Beneficial retained his crowned the following year when he defeated Divine Intervention by 20 lengths. 
Winning favourites’: 
Salsify was one of six favourites since 1999 to take the honours in the historic race while the Ian Ferguson-trained Zemsky was the largest priced winner at 33/1 when he was the comfortable 17 length winner of the 2011 race under Derek O’Connor. 
Youngest winner: 
2003 winner Kingscliff won the race as a six-year-old and is currently the youngest horse to do so since 1990. The Paul Nicholls-trained Earthmover was the oldest winner of the race having taken the proceedings at the age of 13. 
Leading trainer since 1946:
Richard Barber currently holds the record for the winning most trainer of the Cheltenham Foxhunters with Rushing Wild in 1992, Fantus in 1995 and 1997 and Earthmover in 1998. 
Below is the 1991 renewal which saw Lovely Citizen win under Willie O'Sullivan for his brother Eugene.

Search the Archives

recent news story
Donnchadh Doyle's Athlacca winner proved too good for his seven rivals in the Chepstow feature.
recent news story
James Doyle's Dromahane winner picked-up a seventh track victory at Newton Abbott on Friday.
recent news story
Goffs UK will be taking supplementary entries in the build-up to their sale scheduled at Doncaster (24-25 October).
recent news story
Tattersalls Ireland Cheltenham Sale will hold their first sale of the new point-to-point season on Friday 16th November.
recent news story
The Kilkenny Foxhounds have announced that they are moving their Autumn point-to-point meeting to Damma House.
recent news story
A large number of handlers attended the Horse & Jockey Hotel to express their views on many of the issues affecting them.
recent news story
All handlers who train a mare to win between-the-flags will be in with a chance to win one of five 1000 euro vouchers to put towards purchasing a filly at the stores sales
recent news story
Coolagown Stud's Group 1 winning son of Dansili had his 1st Irish Point to Point Winner on Saturday at Toomebridge.
recent news story
The number of winners that a rider is allowed to have ridden in order to ride in a novice rider race has increased.
recent news story
Top Irish amateur jockey Jamie Codd helped kick off the countdown to the Dowth Point-to-Point and Country Fair.
recent news story
Ronan McNally enjoyed a day to remember at Hexham on Monday when his stable veteran See Double You won his tenth races at the ripe old age of 15.
recent news story
The Loughanmore maiden winner has already achieved Grade 2 honours over hurdles.
recent news story
The Suir Vale (H) point-to-point and the Roscommon (H) point-to-point have both been cancelled.
recent news story
A total of 29 fixtures are scheduled to take place this autumn beginning at Toomebridge on Saturday 6th October.
recent news story
The latest addition to is now available, which will allow supporters to follow the declarations each weekend.
recent news story
Our latest initiative to promote attendances at point-to-points is now live.
P2P Clothing
EU SIFPITMEuropean UnionOfig Fiontair Aitiuil
© Irish Point to Point Services Ltd, 2014. All rights reserved. Grangeclare West, Kilmeague, Naas, Co Kildare
Cookie Policy | Privacy Policy
Hosting and Development by HostIreland