Join | Forgot your password?
Baileys Top RightTattersalls Chelt Main Banner

Latest News

Second Riders Title for Barry O Neill

Second Riders Title for Barry O Neill

(Barry O'Neill accepting his award from Leo Powell)

THE IRISH FIELD Champion Rider- Barry O’Neill

The 2017/18 season saw 106 riders ride winners with 17 over 10 winners and five over 20.

This year’s winner Barry O’Neill recorded his second consecutive title having broken the 13-year stranglehold on the championship set by Derek O’Connor and Jamie Codd last season.

A dual novice Champion in the 08/09 and 09/10 season, O’Neill previously came fourth twice, third five times and second once in the riders title.

Barry O’Neill and Jamie Codd shared the lead in the rider’s title for the first month. Codd then went in front for one week after second week in November before O’Neill regained the lead the following week and remained there until Easter weekend where Codd levelled with O’Neill on 34 winners apiece.

This year’s champion went in front again the following weekend and remained in front for the rest of the season.
Runner-up, Derek O’Connor went into second spot after the first weekend in May having had five winners between Dromahane and Dawstown.

Going into the final weekend O’Neill was in front by 56-47 and even though having recorded a treble at Kinsale O’Connor was unable to close the gap.

From 263 rides, O’Neill enjoyed 58 winners on 41 maidens which gave him a third best strike rate for his career of 22.1%.

He rode on every day there was pointing this season which was 60 days and had winners at 42 meetings with his best support coming from Colin Bowe who supplied him with 25 winners, followed by David Christie with 10.

O’Neill rode four treble’s and eight doubles this season.

His first point-to-point winner came in 2007 at Horse & Jockey in March 2007 on Viking Rebel and has enjoyed notable winners under rules including Shantou Flyer in the Grade 2 Florida Pearl Novice Chase in 2015, Askanna in the Grade 2 Irish Daily Mirror Novice Hurdle in 2011, Coeur Du Lion in the Goffs Landrover Bumper in 2016 and Commander Of Fleet in this year’s Goffs Landrover Bumper.

O’Neill is also the Champion Eastern rider this season with 27 winners and Champion Northern rider with 16 winners.

Having ridden 481 point-to-point winners to date, he is the fourth winning most rider in point-to-points.

The top five riders this season were:

Barry O'Neill 58
Derek O'Connor 50
Rob James 42
Jamie Codd 39
Johnny Barry 27


Search the Archives

recent news story
The Kilmoganny fixture was due to be staged on Sunday December 2nd.
recent news story
Sunday's point-to-point will now get underway 30 minutes earlier than had been scheduled.
recent news story
The North Down Hunt will be staging schooling at Kirkistown after the point-to-point on Saturday 24th November 2018.
recent news story
The Lingstown point-to-point committee have advised they are currently watering and spiking the track.
recent news story
Tattersalls Cheltenham November Sale concluded with two horses fetching the top price of 190,000.
recent news story
Stuart Crawford's impressive Loughanmore winner had his price slashed for the Champion Bumper following the latest success.
recent news story
A total of nine Irish Pointers realised six figure sums in the Cheltenham sales ring on Friday evening.
recent news story
West Waterford Foxhounds Boulta p2p fixture scheduled for Sunday 25th November has been postponed until Sunday 16th December.
recent news story
ITBA launch its Next Generation Apprenticeship Scheme `Supporting Employment Programme.`
recent news story
Nominees for the 2018 awards which will take place next month have been revealed, including in the point-to-point category.
recent news story
Jamie Codd became just the second rider in point-to-point history to record 900 winners following the success of Pegase Amour.
recent news story
Entries are now being accepted for the Tattersalls Ascot December Sale.
recent news story
A total of 79 point-to-point fixtures will take place in the spring campaign right through to the June Bank Holiday.
recent news story
The number of winners that a rider is allowed to have ridden in order to ride in a novice rider race has increased.
recent news story
Ronan McNally enjoyed a day to remember at Hexham on Monday when his stable veteran See Double You won his tenth races at the ripe old age of 15.
recent news story
A total of 29 fixtures are scheduled to take place this autumn beginning at Toomebridge on Saturday 6th October.
recent news story
The latest addition to is now available, which will allow supporters to follow the declarations each weekend.
recent news story
Our latest initiative to promote attendances at point-to-points is now live.
P2P Clothing
Ofig Fiontair AitiuilEuropean UnionITMEU SIFP
© Irish Point to Point Services Ltd, 2014. All rights reserved. Grangeclare West, Kilmeague, Naas, Co Kildare
Cookie Policy | Privacy Policy
Hosting and Development by HostIreland